New System for Calculating Short Stays in Schengen

Starting 26 June 2013, the changes the previously known time of visiting Schengen area in Europe for just a short stay. The rule itself remains the same: 90 days per half year. In other words, like before Non-Europeans can come to visit Schengen area for up to three months inside a half year period. The change is in the computation of when this period starts. The period starts within any 180 day period at any entry. 



Under the new rules, the 180 day period should be considered retrospectively on each entry to the Schengen area. For example, it would mean that an American traveling to Germany on 09 September 2013 would have his or her passport examined for stamps showing previous stays in the Schengen area for the 180 days immediately preceding 09 September, i.e. back to 13 March 2013. If the traveler has spent 90 days in the entire Schengen area over the period of time dating from 13 March 2013, this person will be refused entry to Germany.

The Swiss administration has provided a useful example sheet which can be accessed here.

Who Does This Apply To?

The new rules apply to nearly all persons with a multientry visa and “visa waiver” nationals. “Visa waiver” are citizens are shown here as “buddy countries”. List of Countries (not) Requiring a Visa to Enter Germany

If you have a residence permit of a Schengen country then this rule will not be applicable for your visit to another Schengen country.  


Additional information